Secret Society Musings

Aside

Recently I started a Facebook page with just DNA matches. The criteria is that you must match a member on the page via DNA. So, everyone has either tested on one or more or all of the following DNA sites; 23andme, FTDNA, Ancestry & many have uploaded to Gedmatch.

For selfish reasons; we have made the page ‘private’. So, no one other than members know what we post, when we post it. Basically – we are all a bit geeky in the DNA world. Some of us are much more adept at understanding this amazing technology / information than others. I fall into the category ‘than others’. I am a novice at understanding it all, but I am getting there. It is fortunate that I have these wonderful primas y primos to share, compare and query with.

I look at these 1:1 comparisons on Gedmatch and I know there are answers here; but I am not a genetic Genealogist [yet – LOL] there are two cousins both related to me and to each other. They share the same surname. However, I am not related to them on the same chromosome. What does this mean? Well, a few months back I found out if we end up sharing on the same chromosome; then we share a common ancestor. Common ancestor – the theme of my search. I have been unsuccessful so far in finding a common ancestor. There is always the DNA response; Random Recombination which is, I think, the pat answer. When it lies outside the expectations, yet there is a connection.

try again

Comparing Cousins – they are related – same surnames – but not a common ancestor readily found

On a positive note; it’s a different experience connecting with people that you never knew about and share DNA with. I was thinking just the other day – these are 3rd plus cousins and I probably might have never met them had I known about them all my life / all their life. Here in the DNA world there is some strange and wonderful occurrence where we do not take each other for granted; we celebrate even the smallest shred of shared DNA. we welcome with open arms the cousins of our cousins that have also been invited to share in this ‘Secret Society’.

Grateful to experience this new world; however confusing and frustrating [because the puzzle pieces aren’t fitting yet] at times it can be.

2 thoughts on “Secret Society Musings

Leave a Reply

